USWNT player Megan Rapinoe - Photo credit Jeremy Olson - digitalgopher.come

USWNT player Megan Rapinoe - Photo credit Jeremy Olson - digitalgopher.come


US Women Will Look to the Future in Minneapolis

by on 6 October 2016

US Women’s head coach Jill Ellis announced her 24-player roster today that will travel to Utah before playing at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis on October 23. Notably absent from the squad are Megan Rapinoe, Ali Krieger, and Alex Morgan.

After a disappointing Olympic performance, Ellis appears to be casting her eyes toward the new blood, bringing in a total of 11 uncapped players such as Kealia Ohai, Shea Groom, and Lynn Williams.

The exclusion of players such as Rapinoe and Morgan will disappoint some fans who last witnessed a USWNT match in the Twin Cities a decade ago. Rapinoe, in particular, has come under-fire for her decision to draw attention to racial injustices in the United States by kneeling during the national anthem. Just today, the winger published a manifesto on her protest in which she wrote:

When we as a nation put our minds to something, when we truly choose to care about something, change always happens. I am choosing to do something. I am choosing to care.
-Megan Rapinoe

Whether Rapinoe was excluded for political or sporting reasons, fans will be able to look at some of the exciting talents of the younger generation of players. Williams was the 2016 NWSL Golden Boot winner with 11 goals. Ohai is also coming off a breakout season.

The match will be played at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis at 12:45 p.m. on October 23.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Jane Campbell (Stanford), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (7): Abby Dahlkemper (Western New York Flash), Arin Gilliland (Chicago Red Stars), Merritt Mathias (Seattle Reign), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Danielle Colaprico (Chicago Red Stars), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Samantha Mewis (Western New York Flash), Andi Sullivan (Stanford)

FORWARDS (6): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Shea Groom (FC Kansas City), Ashley Hatch (BYU), Kealia Ohai (Houston Dash), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Lynn Williams (Western New York Flash)